Skip to content

Pimms and Lemonade Scones – It Doesn’t Get More English than That

15, August, 2010

Today was the first really sunny day we’ve had here in Dublin for a long time, and possibly the last we will have this year, as we are now well into the Irish autumn (officially the beginning in August).

As a true English girl, when the sun shines my thoughts turn to Pimms, that quintessentially summery drink which is so hard to find here in Ireland – ask for it in a pub and you’re likely to be met with a blank stare before being handed a Guinness.

I’ve been reading in a few baking blogs recently about lemonade and ginger beer scones, so Pimms and lemonade scones seemed like a good way to honour a classic, and a fitting fond farewell to summer.

Now you can’t have a glass of Pimms without some fresh mint, cucumber and strawberries floating around, so they had to be added to the recipe, a basic sweet scone mix with Pimms and lemonade substituting the milk. The grated cucumber reminded me of the courgette-based cakes I’ve been reading about this week.

Essential ingredients for summer

Essential ingredients for summer in front of our oh-so-English picnic hamper.

Now even after a mid-afternoon raspberry daiquiri, I didn’t have the guts to risk ruining an entire batch of scones with a potentially disastrous idea, so I wimped out a bit and made three separate doughs, one with Pimms and all the trimmings, one with just the trimmings and one with just strawberry – safe, reliable strawberry.

This was my first opportunity to use my brand new rolling pin – I had hitherto been using a bottle of honey rum to roll out dough when baking, and if I hadn’t purchased a rolling pin today would probably have been eyeing up the Pimms bottle instead. Necessity is the mother of all invention.

Unfortunately the only homegrown ingredient used here was the mint – I hardly have enough room in the kitchen garden of my 5th-floor apartment to grow cucumbers, and my one burgeoning alpine strawberry wouldn’t have sufficed for even one scone.

After ten minutes baking in the oven, I halved one of the scones, spread it with butter and nervously took a bite. It was strange…but good! Relieved, I offered it to the official taster, who liked the mint, liked the butter, but didn’t like the strawberries. As he doesn’t like strawberry scones anyway (not so safe and reliable, apparently), I took that as a thumbs up.

The finished product - a Pimms & Lemonade scone

The finished product - a Pimms & Lemonade scone.

So now I have not only the satisfaction of having a risk pay off, but also of knowing that I may well be the first person to ever have attempted Pimms scones.

Following this recipe, a request has been made by the official taster for cucumber scones. I already have some ideas, so watch this space.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 16, August, 2010 11:29 am

    I am loving the design of your blog and wish you well with your ambition to conquer the world one scone at a time.

  2. famousfivestyle permalink
    16, August, 2010 4:46 pm

    Impressive scone experimentation – I’m sure George, Timmy et al would scoff the lot!

  3. 16, August, 2010 11:21 pm

    Interesting. I love a scone and I love an experimenting baker- you can’t go wrong. Pimms, how much did you use? I don’t think I’ve ever tasted it, always see it though- will have to try it when summer hits.

    • 17, August, 2010 9:08 am

      I just replaced the milk with the Pimms & Lemonade – same quantity – but maybe a higher Pimms to lemonade ratio than if I was making it to drink! The scones with the Pimms actually worked out the best – the dough was easier to work and the bubbles in the lemonade made it lighter.

  4. 19, August, 2010 11:16 am

    I’m intrigued yet afraid! I will add them to my weekend high tea in the next few weeks.

  5. 8, September, 2010 6:01 pm

    This is a really creative recipe! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I will be back to check out more of your ideas.

  6. PapaChuck permalink
    25, September, 2010 5:34 pm

    My Scottish father taught me to love Pimm’s and Lemonade at an early but legal age. My wife has also been converted so this is a must try for us.

Leave a Reply

