Skip to content

Bacon and Maple Syrup Scones (and cookies)

21, August, 2010

I went all American with today’s scones. According to the internet, I should be posting a peach-themed recipe right now, but I’m not. I don’t like peaches. I do like blueberries and blackberries, the other two fruits inundating the blog world at the moment, but the official taster requested a savoury scone for the next recipe, and it’s a cold night sleeping out in the stairwell if the official taster’s wants are not met.

I have been drooling over all these pictures of berry scones, so I will be making something of that ilk before too long, fashionably late and unseasonable as ever.

 

Male syrup

OK, so it is pretty yummy...

 

The official taster has also been angling after a meat-based scone and, as a vegetarian who is just learning to cook meat, bacon seemed a safe option. I was Googling bacon scones on Friday (should I have been working? possibly…) when I came across a couple of recipes for maple and bacon scones. Having watched in horror a few weeks ago as the official taster devoured pancakes with bacon, chocolate chips, syrup and butter for breakfast, I thought this might appeal to him.

No expense spared for my blog or the official taster, I headed out last night to purchase a bottle of maple syrup, which I found for the extortionate price of €6.94!

I used a simple savoury scone recipe, replacing the milk with a syrup-water mix (3 parts syrup to 1 part water) and adding chopped grilled bacon.

  • 225g self-raising flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 55g butter
  • 150ml syrup/water mixture
  • 4 rashers of grilled bacon, plus more to serve

 

Bacon and Maple Syrup Scones

Bacon and maple syrup scones with 'extra-crispy' bacon

 

Preheat the oven to 220C. Lightly grease a baking sheet. Mix together the flour and salt and rub in the butter. Stir in the syrup/water a bit at a time until you have a soft but not sticky dough. Chop the bacon into small pieces and add to the mixture. Roll out the dough about 2 1/2cm thick, cut out rounds and place on the baking tray. Put more chopped bacon on top of each scone and brush with more syrup. Bake for 10-15 minutes.

The original recipe was supposed to produce 8-12 scones; as it would just be the official taster eating them, I halved the recipe, thinking 4-6 scones would be enough. In fact, I only ended up with 3.

I sprinkled the tops of the scones with more chopped bacon and glazed with maple syrup, and after 10 minutes in the oven they came out looking beautiful. So taken was I with admiring their beauty, that I forgot about and burnt the extra rashers of bacon I had put under the grill to accompany them. Did I mention I wasn’t good with meat?

I halved one of the scones, still soft and fluffy from the oven, spread it with butter, layered on the ‘crispy’ (ahem) bacon from the grill and drizzled with maple syrup. Upon first bite, the official taster made a noise that sounded something like ”Mmmmm… MMMM’, which I took to be an approval.  I tried a small bacon-less bite, and I was disappointed that you couldn’t really taste the maple syrup – just its sweetness – but once it was soaked in the stuff it was practically melt in the mouth.

 

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Not scones!

 

Now man cannot live by scone alone, so this afternoon I also baked some cookies. I am not a good biscuit baker; they taste OK but they’re always a bit too hard and thin – never the soft, gooey cookies we all want. But today I found a very simple recipe on the BBC’s Good Food website which was pretty damn close, even after cooling.

These cookies were for the official taster’s brother to thank him for getting me a great deal on an iPhone 4, but the official taster forgot to tell me until after I’d baked them that he might not be allowed them due to his strict rugby player’s diet. Suspicious?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 24, August, 2010 2:48 am

    Yummy! These sound really good! I have never tried to make a savory scone before. I have always just made scones with fruit. I will have to try these soon, syrup and bacon..mmmm…they sound delicious! 🙂

  2. 24, August, 2010 6:01 pm

    Thanks for the comment on my blog, I’ll definitely be perusing your site more for some scone ideas. Baked goods with bacon always get my thumbs up!
    Cheers, Clair

    Oh, and scone as in gone? High five for that one!

  3. 6, September, 2010 2:48 pm

    These aren’t savory scones, but this is my favorite recipe for maple-oatmeal scones: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/maple-oatmeal-scones-recipe/index.html. Actually if I’m being honest I haven’t tried any others with maple syrup but I love these. They’re sweet and moist enough they can even stand on their own, and you can really taste the maple. Although, having grown up in the land of maple syrup I can also testify that where syrup is plentiful there are different grades available, some of which have a much stronger maple flavor than others. So that could effect things too. As I just moved to Aussie I’m missing high quality, local maple syrup. It’s sooooo good.

    Great blog concept. Very yummy looking header! 🙂

  4. 13, September, 2010 8:09 pm

    Lots to love about these; thanks for the inspiration!!

Leave a Reply

