Skip to content

Cheese and Mustard Mini-Scones (for my Mummy)

25, August, 2010

For years now I’ve had a love of all things miniature. I am drawn to anything that’s smaller than it should be. I have large collections of tiny bowls, tiny candles, tiny notebooks… all too small to be of any real use. I have no less than three miniature chests of drawers, each drawer just about large enough for a paperclip.  I once asked for a set of espresso mugs for my birthday, even though I hated (and still hate) coffee, just because they were so tiny and cute.

(All this is going somewhere, don’t worry. It’s going towards, as you may have guessed from the title, today’s recipe for mini-scones. Did you guess? Well done, you.)

This weekend I am flying home to visit the woman responsible for buying me a lot of these miniature things – my mother. She also just happens to be the person who gave me my love of cheese scones. So what better way to show her I love her than with a batch of miniature cheese scones?

Now simple cheese scones might be a bit basic for this blog (come on people, this is post no. 4 – I’m an expert now!), so I decided to take this opportunity to venture into the previously unexplored (by me) territory of wholewheat flour.

 

Miniature scones

Ready for baking!

It was actually surprisingly easy to use – a bit of baking powder compensates for the lack of self-raisingness, and it was a lovely texture to work with. I also threw a bit of mustard into the mix to spice things up a bit.

 

Clearly there’s no trick to mini-scones. I just rolled out the dough a bit thinner than usual and used a teeny-tiny pastry cutter (actually a shot glass, let’s call a spade a spade) to cut out teeny-tiny scones. Oh, and I used a slightly lower oven temperature than normal.

Now I’m sure you don’t need me to tell you how to make a cheese scone, but this recipe turned out so delicious that I’m going to anyway. These scones are undoubtedly the best I have made so far – just the smell of them baking in the oven had me drooling. I just hope they’re as delicious when I present them to my mum after a plane journey in a tupperware box in my suitcase.

 

Cheese and mustard scones

Good things come in small packages

Ingredients:

 

  • 125g wholewheat flour
  • 100g self-raising flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 25g strong cheddar cheese, grated
  • 125ml milk
  • 55g butter
  • 1tsp mustard

Lightly grease a baking tray and preheat the oven to 180c. Stir together the flour, salt and baking powder and rub in the butter. Stir in the grated cheese and the mustard, then slowly add the milk and mix together to get a soft but not sticky dough. Knead lightly on a floured surface, then roll out to around 2cm thick. Cut out small rounds and place on the baking tray. Brush with milk and sprinkle more cheese on top of each scone. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown. Simples!

The official taster was regrettably absent to witness this triumph, but I’m sure he’ll be sampling some over in England.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 25, August, 2010 5:45 pm

    Those look delicious! Great idea to use a shot glass to cut them.

  2. 30, August, 2010 12:09 am

    I really just try this recipe!! Does look good! Thank you for your visit and kind words!

  3. 1, September, 2010 5:05 pm

    I took 2 of the mini cheese scones out for my lunch today! What a mistake, I should have taken at least 4, they were delicious!

  4. 8, September, 2010 4:13 pm

    These sound yummy. I was just looking for something to cut tiny scones with earlier this week… why oh why didn’t I think of the shot glass? Yay for you!

Leave a Reply

