Skip to content

Wedding Scones a.k.a. A Big Mess

30, August, 2010

We’ve all heard of cupcake wedding cakes, right? A tower of dainty, delicious-looking cupcakes iced in pink and white and silver? What you may not have heard of is the wedding scone. There’s a good reason for that.

Delicious looking they may be, but scones are certainly not dainty. They are messy and lumpy and generally quite hard to make pretty. Despite this, last week I set out to make the prettiest, weddingy-est scones that have ever been seen, as a pre-wedding gift to my future (now present) sister-in-law. I failed.

Inspired by the numerous recipes flooding the blogging world, as well as the pretty purple colour I imagined the dough would turn, I decided on blueberry scones.

The scones themselves turned out OK, but the blueberries were pretty bland – not at all as sweet and succulent as I’d imagined. Maybe they weren’t quite ripe enough for cooking.

 

Wedding scones

Blueberry scones fresh from the oven

 

The real mistake I made was in trying to decorate them. I knew they would never quite match a cupcake in prettiness, but I needed to make them weddingy somehow. Armed with white icing, pink sugar hearts and edible glitter, I set about turning what were some reasonable looking scones into something that a child might have brought home from nursery. Not quite the look I was going for.

 

Wedding scones

After a child (ahem) attacked them with glitter and icing

 

‘It’s the thought that counts’, I said to myself, transferring the mess on the plate to a tupperware box and packing it into my hand luggage, where I thought I’d be able to protect the scones from harm. I was wrong.

After 40 minutes on the bus, 2 hours in Dublin Airport, an hour and a half on the plane, half an hour at Gatwick and 45 minutes in the car on the way to the restaurant where I was to present them to their recipient, very little remained of the decoration. The icing was now primarily coating the inside of the tupperware, leaving just a sticky, glittery mess coating each scone. The scones were slimy to pick up and, when I later sampled one, slimy to eat, as the icing had completely soaked through. The blueberries were still bland.

I shoved the scones back in the box, and the box back into the car and went into the restaurant, never mentioning my unfortunate mishap to my new sister. Later, the scones went into the bin where they belonged.

The wedding, unlike the scones, was perfect. The bride was beautiful, the groom was handsome, the food was tasty and everybody was happy.

 

Wedding scones

Happy families!

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 1, September, 2010 7:42 pm

    Good for you for trying, though! There is so much variability in blueberries that I’m not surprised they turned out bland. Good blueberries out of season are very hard to come by.

  2. 2, September, 2010 4:13 pm

    Wow, a whole blog on nothing but scones. This is a treasure-trove! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m sorry your blueberry scones didn’t work out, but the thought was the important thing and I’m sure the wedding couple were happy just to have you there.

  3. 2, September, 2010 6:19 pm

    scones are so good that it doesn’t really matter how they look. Also, thank you for showing me that trying to put icing on them is a big mistake, now I won’t try that

  4. 3, September, 2010 2:30 pm

    I’m gonna love this blog, I can tell… ;o)

  5. 4, September, 2010 3:03 pm

    Thank you for your advice on using non-fat butter and milk. You needed Michigan blueberries for your wedding scones!!!

  6. 7, September, 2010 3:07 am

    Maybe it was the icing that failed you – perhaps a different kind would work without being absorbed? Anyway, weddings are all about celebrating with the people you love, bearing scones or not. Hope it was a fun time!

  7. 7, September, 2010 9:43 pm

    Lovely blog. Too bad those scones didn’t turn out. I get so frustrated when the one time I NEED something to be FAB is the one time it flops. Thanks for stopping by my new-ish baking log! I LOVE new visitors. Yours in scones–Geni

  8. 10, September, 2010 3:05 am

    I would have eaten them anyway! (If they were gluten-free, of course!)

  9. 4, October, 2010 2:07 pm

    Just seen from my stats that someone found my blog from Googling ‘happy families pic’ – can only assume this is the post they were brought to 🙂

Leave a Reply

