Skip to content

Redemption Scones (and cupcakes)

8, September, 2010

Following the disaster which was the subject of my last post, and with a lack of significant events to theme this post around, I decided to prove to the world that I can make presentable fruit scones.

The fruit I decided on was strawberry, partly inspired by the fact that I’m starting tennis lessons this week (tennis=Wimbledon=strawberries) but more by the fact that they were on special offer in my local supermarket. I thought it would be interesting to use wholemeal flour as well, after the success of the wholemeal cheese scones.

The  scones turned out OK – not amazing, but not a total mess. They weren’t as light as I would have liked – I think I should have added a bit more baking powder, as well as perhaps some extra sugar to counteract the heavy texture and taste of the wholemeal flour. Next time I might try using brown sugar for a more flavoursome result.

Strawberry Scones

I also made some cupcakes, pink and white to match the slightly tired roses I rescued from Tesco’s for 75 cents a bunch. I took the opportunity to test out my exciting, never-used-before piping syringe, but unfortunately I made the buttercream icing a little too runny, and it didn’t really hold its shape. Not the most triumphant weekend of baking. I’m confident I’ll do better in a couple of weeks when the official taster and I move into our lovely new flat, where I’ll have a kitchen free of housemates and bad vibes!

Buttercream Cupcakes

Photos will have to follow later, as they are currently trapped on my camera. Instead, here’s a photo of the embarassingly pink tennis racquet I was forced to buy for my lesson:

Venus and Serena Tennis Racquet

It even says 'Venus' and 'Serena' on it!

Finally added the photos nearly 2 months later…!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. neigeblanche permalink
    8, September, 2010 9:56 am

    I like your racket! How many lessons are you taking? Tennis is great fun.

  2. 8, September, 2010 2:49 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today. I will spend some time browsing your blog this AM. I made strawberry scones. If my memory serves me right it was my first try at scones. Can’t wait to see you pictures. Cute racket…have fun with your tennis lessons.
    Donna

Leave a Reply

