Skip to content

Guinness Scones Part 2

27, September, 2010

After receiving encouragement from various sources, I decided to give Guinness scones another go. This time I used far less bicarbonate of soda, but added a bit of baking powder (still not really sure what the difference is between those two). It worked, in that it produced edible scones which tasted of Guinness, but they weren’t really anything special. I think the flavour would have been great for a bread but wasn’t enjoyable enough to stand alone as a scone, which after all should be a little bit of a treat. Still, I think I saved a little bit of face with my second attempt.

Guinness Scones

In the name of research, I tried a couple of miniature scones that were being served at a work day out last week. I think they had chives in but tasted of nothing but the flour they were heavily dusted in. Made me feel a bit smug. Over and out.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 27, September, 2010 3:59 pm

    Hurray for Guinness scone success! I believe baking powder has baking soda in it, but has additional ingredients as well – I think cornflour/cornstarch and maybe salt.

  2. 4, October, 2010 4:44 pm

    Hi
    About your question on fresh pumpkin vs. canned for my pumpkin scones. I would use the same amount, just cook and then puree-if you feel it’s watery then add a T. flour and that should do the trick šŸ™‚ Have a great day!

  3. 10, November, 2010 4:09 pm

    your site is awesome! imagine that a blog completely devoted to scones- i love it!

  4. Marika permalink
    29, November, 2010 6:44 pm

    I think my man would love it if I made some yummy Guinness scones! If they’re a bit plain maybe they could be enjoyed with some butter or cheese.

Leave a Reply

