Skip to content

Ginger Scones and the Mystery of the Good Knob

11, October, 2010

Last Friday, I flew from Dublin and my mum flew from London to spend a few days together in Toulouse. My mother is one of the few people who read my blog, and after making her cheese and mustard scones last time I saw her, I could hardly turn up sconeless this time.

Recently, my mum has developed a bit of a thing for ginger, an ingredient which I reckoned would make some pretty good scones. I thought I was being oh-so-creative, but there’s nothing new under the sun (as my mother occasionally says), and a quick Google search brought up this recipe from Slow Food Herefordshire.

Ginger Scones

Now I didn’t really know what preserved ginger was or where to get it, nor did I have any idea what constituted ‘a good knob’. I had a smallish ‘knob’ of fresh ginger at home, and I bought a packet of crystallised ginger from a health food shop, using twice as much crystallised as fresh.

The recipe recommends serving with thick Herefordshire honey, but I decided to go one step further and put a few dollops of honey into half of the dough, inspired by Loseley’s Honey and Ginger Ice Cream, a favourite of my mum’s on numerous trips to the theatre in years gone by. I can’t guarantee what I used was Herefordshire honey, though – sorry, Herefordshire.

Ginger Scones

After my few recent not-so-triumphant scone-ings, I was relieved to announce ginger scones a success. The honey and ginger scones turned a little more golden in the oven, and were lovely and sweet. Those without honey still had a touch of sweetness from the sugar on the crystallised ginger but didn’t have quite enough flavour to stand alone without a bit of extra butter (or honey).

Ginger Scones

I took two of each batch to France with me, transporting them carefully in my bag. They survived the journey, unlike the poor wedding scones, and they were a welcome treat after hours spent roaming the streets of Toulouse shopping at markets, sampling cheese, taking photos and visiting churches (*sigh*). We even tried them with a bit of violet jam (a speciality of Toulouse, apparently), scooping it on with our fingers for lack of a knife as we waited for our flights home in Toulouse Airport on Sunday afternoon.

Alas, like the pictures of September’s strawberry scones, these pictures are also trapped on my camera, and will remain so until I get motivated enough to order a USB card reader thingy. Today, I’ll do it today!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 11, October, 2010 3:52 pm

    The official taster’s official response to the ginger scones was ‘Gingerumptious!’, but then he’s not well at the moment…

  2. Sherrie S. permalink
    11, October, 2010 11:37 pm

    Your mother isn’t the only one who reads your blog! I’ve been drooling over it ever since I discovered it when you posted to my blog — sherriequilt.blogspot.com Everything sounds so good. I’m simmering a chard-potato soup right now and wish I had some of your rosemary scones to go with it.

    • 13, October, 2010 4:40 pm

      Thanks for your kind words! Let me know if you try out the rosemary scones for yourself!

  3. 20, October, 2010 12:58 pm

    Thanks for my comment; I followed it to your blog and am astounded – a whole blog on scones! Amazing, I am very inspired to be more adventurous with them in the future!

  4. 20, October, 2010 7:59 pm

    Those sound amazing! I can’t imagine what lavendar jam would taste like. Looks like I just need to go to France sooner than later!

  5. 12, November, 2010 11:17 pm

    I have had dome dynamite ginger peach scones before. Give them a try next summer when peaches are plentiful! Thanks for the comment, on Attackingfood. I love the commitment to scones, you know how I feel about them. Maybe share some recipes?

    • 15, November, 2010 4:11 pm

      Not a fan of peach, but I think the official taster is so maybe I’ll give it a go! Delighted to see any scone recipes you have!

Leave a Reply

