Skip to content

Cheese, chives, lavender, apple, raspberry and ginger. But not all together.

28, November, 2010

It’s been a little while since I last posted – I hope you haven’t been going elsewhere for your scones… Mum? Dad?

I’ve been really busy lately – work, French lessons, Christmas shopping and endless packing, unpacking and repacking – this has been my first weekend at home since Hallowe’en. But enough moaning, I’m sure no one is feeling sorry for me anyway, and now I have a bumper edition of scones and a free afternoon to write to make up for it.

This weekend, not only did the official mother fly over for a visit, but the official taster’s whole family minus one drove down to see us. This was a definitely an occasion that required some baking, as well as a large amount of cleaning.

Sometime ago I had read a blog post about some spiced chai scones, made simply by adding some tea to the recipe. The official taster and I have an almost obscene amount of different flavoured teas, one of my favourites being a mix of lavender, apple and raspberry from a random Polish brand. It was a bit of an experiment, but then so were most of my other scone recipes so far.

I rubbed 55g of butter into 225g of self-raising flour, 2 tbsps of sugar and a pinch of salt, then stirred in some strongly brewed tea to bring the mixture to a dough. I added chopped crystallised ginger to half of the dough, then rolled out the mixtures and cut into rounds which I baked at 180ºc for about 20 minutes.

Lavender, Apple and Raspberry Tea Scones

The official mother enjoying Lavender, Apple and Raspberry Tea Scones

While they were baking, the official taster asked sweetly, ‘Are you making me some cheese scones?’ How could I resist that? So, to keep the OT happy, and to make sure I had a back up in case the other scones went awry, I started on a batch of cheese scones. I used this recipe for cheese and chilli scones, but left out the chilli and threw in a handful of homegrown chives instead, with a sprinkle of cayenne pepper for good measure.

Cheese and Chive Scones

Cheese and Chive Scones - one missing?

The Lavender, Apple and Raspberry Tea Scones tasted pretty good – subtly sweet – but nothing can compete with a cheese scone, let’s face it.

I also made some naan bread this weekend from a book of bread recipes I have. This was the third or fourth recipe I’ve attempted from this book and everything I’ve produced has been pretty mediocre. The naan bread was a test to see if the book was worth keeping, and unfortunately they were nothing special – fine,  but probably no better than any recipe I could find on the internet. They looked quite good though…

Naan Bread

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 29, November, 2010 4:45 am

    It’s amazing the different variations you can add to your scones. If ever you need a back-up taster, I am willing, able and available.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. 30, November, 2010 5:39 am

    What beautiful, beautiful Naan bread! 🙂 Amazing!

  3. Lili Agrell permalink
    2, December, 2010 2:50 am

    i’ve never had a scone… dont kill me 🙂
    but after seeing these i just might make some pumpking ones, that sounds awesome.

  4. 2, December, 2010 2:54 am

    just getting into baking scones. they really are kind of a perfect food/vehicle for cheese.

  5. Bernideen's Tea Time Blog permalink
    9, December, 2010 12:10 am

    Hope you post often – love your blog!

  6. 24, January, 2011 12:00 am

    How wonderful these look! I love your blog! Join me on Tuesday for Tea Time! I would love to have you join us each Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

