Skip to content

Scone But Not forgotten: Chai Scones

30, May, 2011
Drink Me Chai

Drink Me Chai

So…six months since my last post, that was longer than I intended. And to be honest, it could have been even longer if I hadn’t found myself housebound this morning with nothing to eat for breakfast. I was up at 8.36 and by 8.54 I had a batch of freshly baked scones and still enough time to throw on some clothes before sitting down at 9.00 to a full day’s work (who needs to shower when you’re working from home?).

I’d been meaning to make chai scones for a while, pretty much since my obsession with chai lattes started sometime back in November. I added Drink Me Chai to about 60ml hot water, which I used to bring together a mixture of 225g self-raising flour, 55g of butter, a pinch of salt and 2 tablespoons of low fat sweetener (don’t tell the official taster it wasn’t real sugar!). I rolled it out, cut out 2 large rounds, added some crystallised ginger to the rest of the dough and made 4 mini-scones. I baked them all at 200°c for about 10 minutes.

Chai Latte Scones

Not circles Giotto would be proud of...

Out of practise as I was, I didn’t quite manage to recreate the perfect rounds of my previous scone-ings (ahem). Now you’d have to make pretty bad scones for them not to taste pretty good when you pull them out of the oven and slather them in butter, but I have to say I was disappointed that the flavour of the chai wasn’t stronger. I added about 4 teaspoons and was worried it would be far too much, but in fact another couple would have done the job nicely. This opinion was seconded by the official taster, whose taste buds are a bit more trustworthy as he doesn’t spend all day every day throwing back mugs of the stuff. The ginger helped perk them up a bit.

I’d say the chai scones were an adequate success after my 6 month break from the world of scones. Now, what have I been doing since last we met? Well, there was Christmas, New Year, my birthday and my Dad’s 60th. Then there was a weekend in Berlin, an engagement in Venice and a family holiday and wedding in Canada, with a few friends’ visits thrown in for good measure. There were also some pretty good missed opportunities for themed scones, like the Queen and Obama’s visits to Ireland.

Anyway, I have rediscovered the joy of sconery and hope to get back into regular baking (I may have to combine this with a gym membership).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 11, July, 2011 5:17 pm

    I am not a fan of Chai tea but those flavors in a scone would be wonderful. Will have to try it in my kitchen.

    • 12, July, 2011 3:21 pm

      I know, I’m really tempted to make them again. I find chai latte a bit too wintry for July but there’s something very summery about a scone!

Leave a Reply

