Skip to content

Cheesy Chilli Bombs

15, June, 2011

I’ve failed with my last two posts to theme my sconery around my life, which currently revolves almost exclusively around work and wedding planning, neither of which make me want to rush home, throw on a pinny and start measuring flour. I am, however, off to France next week, so hopefully I’ll find some inspiration there (I’m not even going to pretend it won’t involve copious amounts of stinky French cheese).

Nevertheless, I did find some time this weekend for a spot of baking. I didn’t set out to make Cheesy Chilli Bombs (what are they, anyway?); I was actually hoping to half-inch Mainly Music Meanderings‘ idea of Taco Scones as a treat for my Mexican food-loving Official Taster.

I couldn’t quite see myself getting rice, ground beef and lettuce into the scones (although I briefly toyed with the idea of broken up tortilla chips), but I used all the other ingredients that seemed appropriate, namely chilli, onion, cheese and a whole load of spices.

I mixed 125g of self-raising flour with 100g of wholemeal flour, a teaspoon of baking powder and a homemade taco seasoning consisting of cayenne pepper, cinnamon, garlic, ground coriander and paprika (along with a bit of salt and black pepper), then rubbed in 55g of butter. I finely chopped and sweated half an onion, as well as chopping a whole chilli and a handful of fresh coriander and stirred it all into the mix with 50g grated mature cheddar. I slowly added milk until I got a soft, not-sticky dough, then rolled it out on a floured surface, cut out as many little rounds as I could and topped them with more grated cheese before baking for about 15 minutes at 200°C.

When they came out, I passed them straight to the Official Taster for the Official Tasting, before tucking into one myself. At first I thought they were a little bland, but the chilli kick came in a bit later. I have to say they didn’t much resemble tacos (probably could have predicted that), but the Official Taster did say that they were pretty good chilli cheese scones, prompting him to rename them Cheesy Chilli Bombs. Whatever. I’m not proud. They disappeared off the plate faster than any scones I’ve made before, which to me is a good result.

I would like to end this post by saying ‘Happy Birthday’ to my Granny, who turned 99 today!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 16, June, 2011 4:12 am

    Thanks for the shout out. Great to see some tweaks tried, too. Next time I make the taco scones, I’m going to try something new in them…

    ~Dan

  2. 19, June, 2011 3:05 am

    Yum!

    And happy birthday to granny! 🙂

    Edwin
    http://awkwardlist.com

Leave a Reply

