Skip to content

Did anyone order a million scones?

14, August, 2011

In all my 27 years as an Englishwoman/girl, including my year and a bit writing this scone blog, I had never made a traditional English scone. This was remedied last weekend, however, when I baked a mega-batch of about 30 mini scones for my friend’s hen do, to be served with mojitos and St. Germain Gin & Tonic sipped from elegant floral tea cups.

I would like to point out right now that this was NOT the wildest part of the weekend…

Now, some people may say that the traditional scone is not complete without some kind of raisin or sultana in. Some other people (me) would say that raisins and sultanas are yucky. So there.

As this was for such an important event and there would be 11 eager ladies waiting to judge me, I decided to use a recipe and stick to it. I found this recipe online – it was from the BBC so I felt confident I could trust it to be properly British. The only change I made was to bake mini-scones instead of normal-sized ones, as I thought it would be more fun for the occasion (I know, I’m wild).

When my mother watches the Grand Prix, she not-so-secretly hopes for some kind of dramatic crash to bring a bit of excitement to what is otherwise an exceptionally boring sport. I don’t know if you feel the same way when reading this blog, but, if so, I’m sorry to say that everything went swimmingly, even transporting the scones from Dublin to London.

I piled them up on a cake stand and we ate them, as is only right, with clotted cream and jam whilst drinking cocktails and playing naughty pass the parcel.

English scones

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 14, August, 2011 8:21 pm

    Oh, for those of you wondering where the Official Taster is, and if I perhaps felt threatened by his eloquence after the last post and fired him. Well, he wasn’t allowed a whole scone this time as they were for the party, but I did make him a mini-mini-scone with the remaining dough, and he seemed suitably satisfied with the result.

  2. 15, August, 2011 8:57 am

    You cannot go wrong with a good scone.
    Have a happy week.
    🙂 Mandy

    • 15, August, 2011 9:06 am

      Nope, but you can go wrong with a bad one! Luckily, these were fine and soaked up the alcohol nicely. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

