Skip to content

Blackberry Scones and Country Life

24, September, 2011

Such is my dedication to the art of scone-making that, even in the midst of an international house and job move, while all our possessions are packed up in boxes waiting for us to find somewhere to live, you can find me in the kitchen baking them.

The Official Taster and I made our Official Move from Ireland to England last weekend, since which time we’ve been staying with the Official Parents. I’ve been lucky enough to have a week off before I start my new job, which I’ve filled with shopping, sorting out final bills and deposits, shopping, voluntary translation work for Kiva, oh, and choosing my wedding dress (which I suppose counts as more shopping).

In between all that, I did manage to get out for a walk in the beautiful English countryside, armed with tupperware, for some blackberry picking, which brought back all sorts of childhood memories. I fought off (ran from) spiders, jumped over ditches and endured a stinging nettle up the nose for this bumper crop.

Blackberry Pickingblackberries

Once I’d collected them, the obvious thing to do with them was to put them in scones. I’ve made fruit scones before with varying degrees of success, so this time I decided to go wild and use a recipe, taking advantage of the Official Mother’s large collection of ancient and seldom-used recipe books. This particular one was the Good Housekeeping Complete Book of Home Baking, dating back to 1989 and unrecognised by the OM as her own.

Good Housekeeping Complete Book of Home BakingI used the recipe for Rich Afternoon Tea Scones, although it was a little ambiguous, calling for 25-50g butter or magarine (so about 37.5 then?) and 15-30ml of caster sugar (who measures sugar in ml??).

The blackberries made the dough a bit slimey and hard to work with, but the result was delicious – soft and light with a gentle flavour. The OM and I ate them straight out of the oven with some homemade plum jam which was the favour from a friend’s recent wedding.

Blackberry SconesPlum Jam

I enjoyed baking with something I had foraged for myself – it brought me one step closer to being Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall…

One Comment leave one →
  1. 25, September, 2011 6:59 pm

    They were indeed delicious! OM x

Leave a Reply

