Skip to content

Cupscones. Sconecakes? Either way, there’s rum in them.

29, April, 2012

I had no intention of writing a post this week. The only baking I planned to do was a batch of cupcakes for a colleague’s last day at work. But it seems that I’ve now become so used to baking scones that even when I try to make something else, the outcome is scone-like.

I followed this recipe for rum cupcakes (almost) to the letter, but instead of pulling a tray of golden domes out of the oven, I got this:

…a batch of… sconecakes. Or cupscones.

I would have a better picture if I hadn’t hurried to cover my shame with bright blue icing and dessicated coconut. Still, despite the slightly odd shape, they tasted good and worked well as the ocean which the pirate ship cake (the main event) sailed in.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

